Inspirational Series: Love

Greetings all!

It will probably come as no surprise to everyone why I chose love as the next inspirational topic. Lets just go ahead and say this blog is dedicated to Valentine’s Day! Now with that, let’s get started!

Love is a big topic in today’s society. It is something that affects everyone. Whether it be a love for your parents, a friend, a husband or wife, or even an animal, there are different types of love for different situations. This is something I firmly believe. There are people in the world that refer to the same kind of love for everything. These are the people who get offended or uncomfortable when one of their friends tells them that they love them. This tells me they have two distinctly different definitions of love that they live by. While neither one of them are wrong, the one who gets uncomfortable needs to realize that not all love is seen as romantic love. 

In the Bible, the book of John chapter 15 and verse 12 it states “this is my commandment: love each other in the same way I have loved you.” This is a command from God Himself to love one another. This shouldn’t be taken lightly. For God sacrificed something great because he loved us so much. John 3:15 says “for God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son so that we should not parish but have everlasting life.” God gave us the ultimate love. He sacrificed his only son for us. I don’t think anyone in this world today loved a stranger enough to sacrifice their only child for them. The least we can do to honor Gods sacrifice is to love each other the same way as God loved us. 

Some of you may ask, well what is love? How can we define this so that we may apply it to our lives? Well it’s simple. In 1 Corinthians chapter 13, (also known as the love chapter) it defines exactly what love is. I won’t be able to post the whole chapter here but maybe you can read it for yourself later. However, here is a portion of what I am talking about:

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”

If we all demonstrated this definition of love the world would be a lot better place. I know I love all my friends like this. I have an unconditional love for them that does not move no matter what happens. We may get into fights sometimes or they do something to annoy me but that doesn’t ruin the love I have for them. I can tell you right now If I had the chance, I would do almost anything for my friends. This is how much I love them. Even in the Bible in John 15:13 it says “There is no greater love than to lay down ones life for ones friends.” If you feel like you can’t have this kind of love towards someone you either need to evaluate yourself or them as a friend because one or the other needs to change. You’re feelings towards them may change but love should never change. Which brings me to my next point. 

Love is a choice not a feeling. 

Some of you may be confused by this and that’s ok. Many of you may be thinking love is most definitely a feeling. In reality though, it’s not. If you look at an attractive person, their looks and their personality might attract you and those are feelings. You want to get to know this person, spend time with them, you want to see if this person is worth your time in the long run. Now that you know enough, you start dating. You have been dating a while and everything they do for you, you adore. You have been telling them you love them. Then one day you wake up and say I don’t want to be with them anymore. I don’t love them. What happened? You didn’t “fall out of love” the “feeling of love” didn’t disappear. You CHOSE not to love them anymore based on the TEMPORARY feelings you are feeling at the moment. What is the best method of coping with this without rushing to break up with that person or, to take it a step further, divorce your husband or wife? Talk! Express yourself to him or her. Try to figure out the deeper meaning behind what’s going on. You can still choose to love your significant other despite what’s going on mentally. It is all about the mindset. 

There are people in my life that I choose to do this for even though I know they will never feel the same way about me. This is understandable because not everyone has the same perception of love as me. I challenge all of you who are reading this to evaluate your perception of love. Are you loving your friends enough? Are you willing to love them despite of how you feel? Maybe you need to redefine how you perceive love. You never know how much it could affect someone else’s life if you would just choose to love. 

That’s all I have for today. Have a happy Valentine’s Day!

#keepinitreal89

Leave a Reply

